Just another WordPress.com site

Time Out

“We don’t do those kinds of things because we’re just so sure there’ll always be time later.”
-Quenton Cassidy “Again to Carthage”

Today was a day devoted to dealing with some of the nonsense that comes up in life that forces you to put aside what you want to be doing, in favor of what you need to be doing. So, instead of heading over to the gym tonight to train for a race I’m not even sure I’ll be able to do, I headed over to the beach to watch the sunset and finish reading “Again to Carthage.” I found it amusing when I read the above line in the last short chapter that perfectly applied to what I was doing.

We spend all our time obsessing and struggling to achieve things that seem impossible to some, including ourselves. Occasionally, you just need to step back and find a peaceful, contentedness that can help you reestablish what it is you really want from life. So I thought I would share my evening’s view with you. Not everyone is lucky enough to live a block from a gorgeous sunset, but find your own place that you can escape to and reflect on what’s important to you.

(Sorry for the quality, used the camera on my phone)

P.S. For anyone interested, I HIGHLY recommend picking up “Once a Runner” immediately! I loved this book. “Again to Carthage” is a good sequel but the first half can kind of drag, especially reading it immediately after “Once a Runner.” The running takes place in the second half of the book but overall I really enjoyed the sequel too.

2 responses

  1. Josh

    awesome sunset Jesse! Great to see you blogging and looking forward to following along!

    November 2, 2010 at 4:24 pm

    • Thanks Josh…hopefully I can make it interesting.

      November 2, 2010 at 4:25 pm

Leave a Reply

