Just another WordPress.com site

Consistent Forward Motion

I steal this title from something my friend Toby said once in reference to Ultra-Marathons…”Relentless Forward Motion.”

(And before we get started, best of luck to Toby and Mike. they are on their way out to the Grand Canyon for a R2R2R run tomorrow. I can’t wait to be able to take this one on.)

I’m nowhere near ready for anything relentless so the goal over the next two months is nothing but Consistent Forward Motion…and it’s starting to wear on me. The thing I like most about endurance sports is pushing my limits. Something I’m not able to do right now. Coming off stress fractures earlier this year, Carrie has my health and best interests in mind and wants me to focus on nothing but consistently working out and getting ready to start my PCT 50 training on Jan 1.

This is all well and good because I enjoy spending time in the pool, the gym and at least getting some moderate runs in on the trails…the only problem is it’s messing with my head. When I am working out, it’s generally to train for something. I’m used to going out and pushing myself and seeing improvments over the days, weeks, months of training in prep for an event. Working out just to be consistent isn’t quite enough for me.

For example, on Wednesday I headed to the pool and my main set was 20 minutes non-stop for distance. Total distance was 1360yds. I’ve done 1500m OLY tri swims in 20 mins so I was slightly disappointed by my level of fitness. Instead of realizing it doesn’t matter b/c I’m not training for any tri or swim events, I sent Carrie a text saying “Only 1360yds.” Now, the good thing about Carrie is she knows I need to be pushed so today I was back to the pool with a workout in hand that kicked my ass! Once again, the lesson: trust the plan and the coach…now if I could just get my brain to shut up.

The other thing that has been wearing on me are the lower legs. My last few runs I’ve been getting some twinges/pressure sensations in the shins and it’s causing me to be paranoid that it’s not fully healed and now I’m getting it on the right leg as well. I know it’s normal to feel things when your body gets to the remodel stage of healing but it’s still got me concerned. Might get an MRI just to see what’s going on in there. In the meantime, keeping the fingers crossed.

On a MUCH happier note, the San Diego Dirt Devils kick off the 2011 season tomorrow with a run in Mission Trails Park. Can’t wait to see the group and the new members. I love training with this group. The diversity of the members makes it incredible; there are so many different ability levels and everyone is so friendly. I know a few running groups that are great for going out and running yourself into the ground for hard training, but this group is like a family. Everyone goes out to really enjoy the trails and each others company.

One response

  1. I hear ya…

    November 5, 2010 at 2:48 pm

Leave a Reply

