Just another WordPress.com site

Weekly Recap 11/1 – 11/7

Last night’s time change didn’t give me an extra hour of sleep, instead it got me out of bed an hour earlier in the day than I normally would be. The one benefit can be seen above. Had a chance to walk over to the bay for a nice sunrise. We had another gorgeous day today which allowed me to finally make it happen…I got on the bike AND rode it! I’ve gotten on the bike a few times this year, but this was the first time since Silverman I actually got on the bike with the intention of riding it like I might actually be training for something. Let’s just say taking that much time off, when you aren’t a strong cyclist to begin with, is NOT conducive to a smooth ride.

Coincidentally, Silverman is being raced today and after reading about all the people going and seeing results, it’s bringing up some great memories. I loved that race and really want to get back there and see if I can improve on 7th O’all. This was without question the hardest event I have participated in and the best race I have put together. The scenery, race atmosphere, and challenging course are a fantastic combination. Unfortunately it won’t be run in 2011 because of the ITU championships so I’m going to have a go at it in 2012…it could be interesting.

Had another good week of consistency with some good workouts in there. The key workouts this week were my new addition to Tuesday which will be run workouts with Carrie and her athletes. The workouts are going to be a combination of drills and intervals to help me improve my form. After just one session I noticed a huge difference on Thursday and Saturday’s runs. In addition to the runs, I got in a couple swims, a session at the gym and a ride today in the great weather.

By the Numbers:
Swim: 4440 yds / 1:25:00
Bike: 19.32 miles / 1:15:14
Run: 18.25 miles / 3:08:04
Strength: 1 session / 30 mins
Total Time: 6:18:18

 

3 responses

  1. Jay

    Oh how I love to see images of Mt. Jamaica

    November 7, 2010 at 6:01 pm

  2. You know you miss it!

    November 7, 2010 at 6:03 pm

  3. Josh

    great work! i did my first ride in a few months last weekend as well. my ass and low back were not so pleased!

    November 9, 2010 at 3:44 pm

Leave a Reply

