Just another WordPress.com site

Mid-Week Check In

So far it’s been a good week of training. I got in a couple strength sessions on Monday and Tuesday, a short running-drill session with Carrie on Tue, swim on Wed and a real good trail run in Tecolote Canyon this morning.

The exciting news is that tomorrow I am flying to PA for the weekend. My 2 month old nephew is being Christened and I’m the Godfather. Apparently I have to go teach him to hold his breath under Holy Water…or something like that. I’m sure I’ll figure it out when the time comes. Either way, I’m excited to meet him and thank my brother in person for taking the heat of providing a grandchild!

It’ll be good to see the family since, other than my mom, I haven’t seen them for quite a while. I already have plans to see a movie with Kyle, my youngest brother on Saturday before going to see his play that night. He’s been acting in plays and musicals for years now but I was away at college when he started and then moved to San Diego, so I’ve never actually seen one of his shows in person. Really looking forward to it!

Don’t worry though, I’m going to get some running in. I emailed a running group in the area and was put in contact with a really helpful guy that knows miles of trails in the area. I can’t believe there are so many trails (that look awesome!) so close to where I grew up. Glad to see there is at least the opportunity for people in the area to get out and enjoy the scenery back there, as long as the weather cooperates.

The only problem is I now have to choose what trails to do. There is one about 1/4 mile from my Mom’s that leads up the mountain to a trail we used to hike as kids. There is a series of waterfalls pretty close that has a 7ish mile trail but not the most runnable b/c of steps. There’s another one not far from home that has been maintained by mtn bikers and looks to have some incredible single track. Plus there are many more to choose from…choices, choices!!

I can probably get a run in Sat morning and then Mon morning before my flight leaves so I can pick two trails. Maybe I can squeeze in a short night run Sunday morning before heading to the church haha.

Anyway, I’ll try to get some good pics/video of PA trails.

Have a safe and fun weekend!

Leave a Reply

