Just another WordPress.com site

Weekly Recap 11/29 – 12/5

I’ve got some mixed feelings on this past week of training. I got in three good runs, two swims (one decent and one poor) but only one strength session.

Monday was a good swim with some solid sets of 90% effort that put it to me. I was able to maintain a good pace and felt good the whole time.

Tuesday was interval work with Carrie and the CSC crew. I’m liking the addition of some speed work in to the routine. Between the drills and speed it seems to be helping with my form and I’m able to push a quicker pace on the trails without feeling as fatigued.

Wednesday was my sole strength session and this workout pretty much wrecked me for the remainder of the week. My quads were destroyed after this and it had an effect on the rest of my workouts. The workout was good but the problem has been my inconsistency. I need to make sure I’m going to the gym at least three times a week. Doing just one strength session a week is too much of a shock to the system.

Thursday was the Tecolote Canyon run with the Dirt Devils and this is where I realized how bad my quads were. The canyon has a series of short steep hills and my quads were shaking on the downhills trying to stabilize themselves. It was an interesting sensation to say the least but overall the run felt good.

Friday was another swim and the workout was good as a whole but I was really tired. I was able to hold a steady pace but I was fighting heavy fatigue towards the end.

Saturday was a really good run at San Elijo Lagoon. Met a good group of Dirt Devils and Denner and put in 10 miles. I haven’t run the lagoon in a  while and forgot how nice it is in there. It’s a pretty flat run but it’s got a good mix of trail and some sand and makes for a really nice, relatively easy place to get in some miles.

The story of the week was definitely the quads being thrashed and overall fatigue. Thursday night I slept 9 hours and then Friday night I slept another 11. I haven’t slept that long in years. I think the combination of coming off a cold, the workouts, and the holiday running around wore me down. I feel fine now so I think my body just needed to catch up on some sleep.

Anyway, not a bad week of training but not the best either. I’m really looking forward to Jan 1 when I will start an actual training program again. I have been enjoying my workouts but I really like knowing there is a goal on paper that I am working towards.

2 responses

  1. Josh

    i’m sure the strength training killed your quads, but it also sounds like you desperately needed some sleep! 11 hours in one night!! so jealous.
    also liked the SLS review, I keep thinking about trying out some calf sleeves but haven’t made the leap.

    December 6, 2010 at 1:00 pm

  2. I know, I haven’t slept that long in ages. I fell asleep on the couch at 7, Carrie woke me up to go to bed. I woke up a little at 2 but was right back out til 6AM. I couldn’t believe it, I actually had to count the hours to see if it was right haha.

    I have been using them regularly for a while. Not only do I like the compression but they work really well in helping me avoid poison oak on the trails. I’m allergic to it and had it really bad in the spring…on the one day I forgot the sleeves haha.

    December 6, 2010 at 1:04 pm

Leave a Reply

