Just another WordPress.com site

Weekly Recap 12/6 – 12/12

I had a pretty good week of training last week. I upped the strength sessions to 3, got in 3 runs and a swim. Should have tried to get to the pool at least once more but with no real focus to the training plan just yet, I’m happy with it.

Here’s the run down…

Monday
AM: 15 min continuous of sit ups, back extensions, and kettle bell swings. I’m definitely getting stronger and can go heavier with the KB next time.
PM: 1440yds in the pool with the main set focused on short fast intervals.

Tuesday
Another good session of Tuesday morning running intervals with Carrie and the ladies. This week I noticed a huge difference in my form and could really feel the difference between the way I had previously been running and the form Carrie has been working on. During the sprints I really noticed the difference of lifting with the hamstring and the midfoot landing created by the shorter, faster stride.

Wednesday
Another strength session with the main set consisting of rounds of rowing, thrusters, and assisted pullups. The thrusters were 75lbs which was the most I have done for thrusters. It may not seem like much but I’m pretty stoked to be going up with the weight that I can do for these different workouts.

Thursday
9 miles in Tecolote Canyon with the Dirt Devils. Ran with Mike for the first 6 miles at a decent pace then he had to leave so I extended the run with the rest of the group. Felt pretty good throughout the run with the exception of a short stretch where my shin was acting up. Went away and never noticed it again so not sure what it was.

Friday
Back to the gym with the main set being dead lifts and push ups. The dead lifts were 75lbs which was another improvement for me. I did pretty well through the first two rounds but my form started falling apart during the last set. My biggest problem with the dead lifts was that when I lower the bar to the ground, because of my height I have to bend further than I should. It causes me to arch my back and then I’m not strong enough yet to correct my form on the way back up. It’s much easier when I use the larger plates Carrie has at the Innovive gym. They’re pretty cool b/c they are all the size of a standard 45lb plate even if it’s only a 10lb.

Saturday
OFF. Although we spent the day shopping with a break in the middle to watch Pitt get crushed by Tennessee. I would have rather spent the day working out.

Sunday
I ended the week with what was definitely the highlight. 12.5 miles of mostly trails the the Tri Canyon section of Clairemont. We started and ended at the Bay Hill Tavern and got back just in time to see the start of the Steelers’ game against the Bengals. The D put on a clinic and looks absolutely terrifying. If we can get some semblance of an offensive line, you have to really like their chances come playoff time.

Anyway, another successful week of training. I’m starting to enjoy the time in the gym, especially when I see the improvements. I’m feeling good and strong but I can’t shake the nervousness of increasing my miles. I’ve been keeping my fingers crossed that the shin is completely healed and will let me pursue my goal of completing my first 50 miler.

The week by the numbers:
Total Time: 6:05:23
Swim: 1440yds / 35 mins
Bike: N/A
Run: 26.54 miles / 4:20:24
Strength: 3 sessions / 1:10:00

5 responses

  1. Where is the Tri canyon? 12.5 on an urban trail?
    Nice. Looks like a good off season regimen.

    We’ll run one of these days.

    December 14, 2010 at 8:44 am

    • It’s the combination of the various Tecolote Canyon trails. There was a couple miles of road but mostly some pretty nice trails.

      I’ll see if I can get the route from one of the other runners and I’ll post it for you

      December 14, 2010 at 8:49 am

    • Actually here’s the route http://www.endomondo.com/workouts/j0rmqESgE_0

      December 14, 2010 at 8:53 am

  2. Josh

    great work, glad to hear the running is coming back so well! i think i’m going to take your advice and spend a little more time in the gym – and might even give crossfit a try. might…

    December 15, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    • It seems to be going great…fingers crossed it stays that way haha.

      Definitely give the strength stuff a shot. I HATED going to the gym but doing the crossfit style type work makes it much more enjoyable. If you can enjoy the desire to throw up I guess.

      December 15, 2010 at 2:23 pm

Leave a Reply

