Just another WordPress.com site

Christmas Weekend

First, I hope everyone enjoyed the holiday weekend and was able to share it with family and friends!

This weekend, Carrie and I were able to continue the trend of getting sick whenever a holiday pops up. She came down with the flu on Friday so we had to cancel our Christmas Eve dinner plans and we spent the night on the couch and most of Christmas day there too. At one point we did make it outside to walk over to the beach and then the bay to get some fresh air. Just the short walk had Carrie exhausted though so it didn’t last long. I was able to get some pretty cool shots on the new camera she hooked me up with for Christmas though!

This next one is kind of blurry because I had the zoom too far in but it’s 8-10 dolphins surfing in the waves. They kept doing it over and over and it was fun to watch!

I was pleasantly surprised when I woke up the next morning and felt fine. I was planning to meet the Dirt Devils and some others for a run on the SD100 course in the Laguna Mtns, but I fully expected to wake up sick Sunday morning so when I was able to go for the run I was really excited. I don’t think I had been out east to run since I paced Mike the last 13 of the SD100 in June. That was where I re-injured my shin and haven’t been able to run long enough to make it worth the drive out there since. It was great being able to go back to one of my favorite places to run.

We got out there a few minutes late but everyone waited for us so we started off on the run. Mike and I were only going to do about 12 miles, but the majority of the group was going to be doing 21-22. The first couple miles had me struggling to find my breath. I hadn’t gone from sea level to 5000+ ft to run in a while and my body was letting me know! Once I got my breathing settled down I felt surprisingly strong the entire time. My endurance is coming along slowly but steadily and my strength seems to be making up for what I am lacking.

The loop had a good amount uphill and I felt great the whole time. My legs are stronger than they have ever been and I really feel it paying off. Even though I haven’t had any issues, I’ve been doubting the health of my leg. I know it’s all in my head but it’s been messing with me pretty consistently. Feeling strong on this run did a lot for my psyche and I’m excited to start signing up for some events just so I can get out and be in a competitive atmosphere again.

Overall it was a fantastic run and I had a blast being back out in the mountains. It’s going to be tough to not want to drive out there every weekend now that I know I can run a tough double digit run with no ill effects.

Speaking of ill effects, after getting home and eating lunch, Carrie and I went shopping to use some gift cards and I got slammed with the flu while we were out. By the time we got home I was barely able to get off the couch other than the continuous runs to the bathroom (aren’t you glad you read this blog?). I spent the rest on the day huddled on the couch constantly trying to find more layers to put on and battling my stomach. I’m feeling a little better today, just really weak and worn out.

Getting away from the disgusting side of my Sunday, I’ll leave you with some pictures of Sunday’s run.



Leave a Reply

