Just another WordPress.com site

Event Participant

To celebrate New Years Eve, I signed up for my first race of 2011! I just registered for the Xterra Boney Mountain Trail Run 21K and I can’t wait because this will be the first time I toe a starting line since September when I did the Gatorman Open Water Championships.

I’ve been hesitant about signing up for this simply because I’m always doubting the health of my shin after last summer’s stress fracture. However, after all the good runs I’ve had lately, and with Carrie convincing me to test it out, I’m not too worried about it and I’m ready to get back out there. That doesn’t mean I think I’m in any shape whatsoever to race so this will be all about having fun. It’s been a long time since I’ve signed up for a race that either A) I knew without a doubt I could complete or B) I was showing up with a specific (lofty) time or goal in mind. I’ve become accustomed to showing up on race day preparing to push myself to a level that would show me what I could do. It’s a very different feeling going in to an event without thinking about racing it.

I’m really looking forward to showing up with only one goal in mind. Enjoy the trails and the competitive environment!

Leave a Reply

