Just another WordPress.com site

Saturday Run on the PCT

Sorry for the delayed post but it was a busy weekend. After the run I came home in time to watch the Steelers play a horrendous 30 minutes followed by 30 minutes of greatness (the Ravens’ offense didn’t hurt!). The future sis-in-law was in town this weekend too so we had some family time including an AWESOME all you can eat breakfast buffet at Tom Ham’s lighthouse on Sunday morning.

Saturday morning  I went out to run on the PCT with some of the Dirt Devils. A few people showed up early to run from Cibbets Flat north then came back and met a later group, including myself, to run south to Boulder Oaks Campground and back. Boulder Oaks to Cibbets Flat is the first section of the PCT 50 with Cibbets serving and the 1st and last aid station during the race. The trail descends a fast 6.5 miles to Boulder Oaks then climbs back up and passes Kitchen Creek Falls along the way.

As we headed south I was feeling good, too good probably and I took off with a couple others and flew down the hill. We hit the trail to Kitchen Creek Falls and took a detour down to check out the water. After we got some pictures we climbed back up to the PCT and set off to rejoin the group. By the time we hit the turnaround I was still feeling good but knew I went to fast and would pay for it on the climb back up. Sure enough, the warmer than expected temps and the 1300 ft climb took its toll on me. This is the second time I ran this route and both times the climb back up to Cibbets kicked my ass. I was toasted for the last couple miles but stuck it out. I’m going to need to spend a lot more time out on these trails as I get ready for Oriflamme and PCT.

Everything with training is going really well and the only snag to speak of is some knee soreness. It started with the downhills at Boney Mtn and has been persisting since. It’s nothing too horrendous but definitely an annoyance. I think my quads might be too tight and pulling on my kneecap. I’m going to try to roll them out regularly and see if that helps.

Now, on to the pictures…

I love the PCT

Kitchen Creek

More Kitchen Creek

One of the sharp switchbacks towards towards the start/finish of the PCT 50 course

Single track through cool Manzanita trees

The other direction through the same Manzanita trees

Why was the second half so hard?

 

2 responses

  1. Lucho

    Yep, sweet switchback! You have some killer trails.

    January 20, 2011 at 8:34 am

    • I’m not fortunate enough to have them right outside the door but it’s well worth the drive to get there. There’s some really nice trails through the Cuyamaca’s and Laguna Mtn area.

      January 20, 2011 at 10:41 am

Leave a Reply

