Just another WordPress.com site

And the beat goes on…

Sorry for the lack of posts lately. My computer has a virus that only allows certain applications to work so I can load pics or anything fun on the blog, combined with the fact that I’ve had one day off in the last 10 and I haven’t had much time to sit down and do it.

Anyway, enough excuses. Last week wasn’t anything spectacular from a training standpoint but I did have a solid week and feel like I’m progressing well. My running feels good and I’m looking forward to Oriflamme 50K in a couple weeks. After talking with Carrie, the primary goal for this race will be to run it within a “comfort” zone, as comfortable as you can be running a 50K with a significant climb to the finish, and make sure it’s a training run for PCT 50. As much as I’d like to go out with a lofty time goal in mind, it’s just not smart right now. I still plan on finishing no slower than last year and hopefully shave a few minutes off by running it smarter. But the main goal will continue to be stay healthy and prepare for my first 50 miler!

This week has started off well and yesterday was a pretty good run in the Black Mtn Open Space Park. I’ve never run here and there are a LOT of trails to check out. We just did a short 6.5 miles in an attempt to connect the area to the San Dieguito River Park. We missed the turn off trail but after looking over the maps and the GPS we know where we went wrong so we’ll head back up to check it out again soon.

In the meantime, yesterday I put together what should be an awesome run for Sunday with a good friend, Toby. I haven’t had a chance to do a longer run with him in a while and I’m really looking forward to it. Anytime we run together it always makes for an epic time. We’ll be previewing the Iron Mtn “King of the Mtn” course then heading down the 67 to Goodan Ranch. From there we’ll run a point to point through Sycamore Canyon. It should turn out to be about a 20-21 mile run. I’ll have pics and GPS data for ya on Sunday night.

Have a great week and keep moving forward!

4 responses

  1. Derek (100 Peaks)

    It’s good to see that you’re making time for running and won’t be too hard on yourself if your time isn’t completely awesome.

    Toby once invited me to go trail running with him up Iron Mountain, but you guys are so out of my league it’s not even funny. I have to get up there to at least scope out Ellie Lane. Iron Mountain was peak #1 and I went up the direct route. Now I’ve completed 54, so it’s been a while.

    Have a great run on Sunday.

    February 23, 2011 at 7:58 am

    • You definitely should. I’m only familiar with the main route up and back, I’m looking forward to checking out some more of the mountain with the 9 mile route that the King of the Hill course is set up on.

      It’s always fun to go back and check something out you haven’t done in a while. This will be my first time back to Iron Mtn since I proposed a little under a year ago. Toby won’t be getting a ring on this trip haha.

      February 23, 2011 at 8:10 am

  2. Josh

    psyched to hear that training’s going well and you’re on track for the 50K and 50 MILER! Have a great run this weekend! Looking forward to pictures once you fix the computer

    February 24, 2011 at 11:15 am

    • Thanks man! How you been? Getting back on track yet?

      February 24, 2011 at 12:28 pm

Leave a Reply

