Just another WordPress.com site

30 minutes of bliss….give or take

Since feeling the shin pain following the run I did from Iron Mtn to Sycamore Canyon I haven’t been running. The quality gym and pool time have been great and have really helped keep my mind of running, but it was time to test out the leg. This morning I went out for a short 30 minute run and kept at a steady 8ish minute pace in an attempt to not push too hard. For the most part everything went great! I “felt” my shin at one point but it never hurt, just more of a noticing it than anything else. I’m going to take tomorrow off and go for another 30 minutes on Monday and hope for the same result.

I’m anxious to make plans for a race, probably a tri, but I just need to know my shin is OK before I start doing any real training. Mostly, I just have to make sure I don’t rush in to anything. I feel like if I can start running again for short distances, I can at least start thinking about a race and training with a goal in mind.

 

Fingers crossed…..

4 responses

  1. Matt

    Do you have a shin-splint?

    March 26, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    • After that run I had the same sensation I had during the early stages of last years stress fracture so I stopped to try to cut it off before it got too bad. I’m hoping it was a success.

      March 26, 2011 at 2:40 pm

  2. Josh

    great to hear! keep it nice and easy and you’ll have a great race season!

    March 26, 2011 at 10:47 pm

    • That’s what I’m hoping for! Looking at getting healthy for a tri in September, Just OLY distance.

      You ready for WF?

      March 27, 2011 at 6:09 am

Leave a Reply

