Just another WordPress.com site

30 Days of Biking – Day 1

We seem to be on a “30” trend around here. To keep it going, this morning I registered for the 30 Days of Biking pledge at http://30daysofbiking.com/. My goal for this is simple, ride for, at minimum, a continuous 30 minutes every day during April. This is going to include regular rides, bike commuting to work, trainer sessions and beach cruiser rides around Mission Beach and the Bay. I’m looking to get out of this month two things: 1) Some semblance of bike fitness and 2) an answer as to whether or not I can fulfill this 30 day goal.

I had been thinking about doing this and when I found out there was an actual group pledge for it, it made it that much easier to decide. The only problem is, this is NOT the best month to try this. I’m immediately starting off with a massive challenge this weekend. A group of us are heading up to Big Bear as a guys weekend/bachelor party for me. We are leaving at 5AM on Saturday and coming back who knows when on Sunday. This will mean a ride between midnight tonight and 4AM tomorrow morning. Also, I’m going to have to do a ride Sunday night after we get back. I have no doubt I will be exhausted from skiing/drinking for 2 days straight.

The biggest challenge will be the last week…wedding week. Our families will be in town Sunday through Sunday so it’s going to be tough to get rides in all week but early mornings should be available and I should be able to get a couple rides to work in. Wedding day should be interesting but it’s a Thursday and we aren’t getting married til 6. It’s just going to be funny when the family realizes I’m serious when I say, “I’ll do whatever you guys want…after I get back from my ride.”

Anyway, Day 1 was a bike commute to work, actually my third day in a row of this. Every day I’m going to try to post a picture from the ride I did and see if I can’t get anything fun for you guys to see. I’m sure with some of these rides happening at night and various hours and places I should have some good shots. Hope you guys enjoy the pledge…I’m going to do my best to make it happen!

One response

  1. Josh

    awesome idea. have fun with it. maybe i’ll give it a shot in May after WF.

    April 1, 2011 at 6:15 pm

Leave a Reply

