Just another WordPress.com site

Training and Going Gluten/Dairy Free

There hasn’t been anything too exciting the past couple weeks but I’ve gotten back in to consistent training and I’m loving it. We’ve been focusing on running, swimming, and strength with just an occasional bike thrown in. The running is coming along nicely and after a few sessions with Carrie  I feel like I can actually swim again. I still have a lot of work to do in the water to get back to where I was before Gatorman last year but I’m confident I can get it back before SD Tri Classic.

As for the bike, we’ll add that in after I get back from PA on Sunday. I’m headed out tomorrow so I’ll be there all week for my youngest brother’s graduation and party. I can’t wait to check out some of the trails I didn’t get to run when I was there last November and I’ll be hitting up the local Y for some pool and strength sessions. I’m going to be trying my best to stay on the schedule. I’m pretty excited because I found a 10K Xterra trail race about 40 mins from my mom’s house so I’m going to head down to do that one on Saturday morning before the party.

The one thing that is going to be the hardest is what I will be eating when I get back there. Carrie and I have stopped eating dairy and gluten (except I refuse to give up beer) for 30 days and we have about 10 days to go. We started this because Carrie wanted to see if it would help her constantly upset stomach and I was mainly just trying to make it easier on her.  Turns out it made a huge improvement for her and I noticed a slight increase in my energy. We don’t eat much dairy/gluten to begin with but cutting out the bit we did eat has made Carrie feel much better so we’re both going to stick with it after the 30 days is up. The nice thing is we found out Pizza Port makes a damn good gluten free crust and I didn’t even miss the cheese on the pie.

Heading home is going to be a challenge. I’m probably going to have to go grocery shopping when I first get there so I can pick up stuff to make myself. I don’t see the family being too keen on going gluten/dairy free for a week. I may give myself one cheat meal though…I can’t go to PA and not have Chicken Wing Pizza!

One response

  1. We are dairy-free and soy free over here, too! And.. gluten-lite. 😉 This is all the stuff we eat. We don’t miss it and my health has improved, too, with no dairy.
    Here is my post of stuff to eat:
    http://www.theeducatedmommy.com/?p=473

    June 28, 2011 at 11:31 am

Leave a Reply

