Just another WordPress.com site

Back in the Kelp Jungle

This morning was the first day back in La Jolla Cove this season. When I saw it included on my schedule for the week I was a little concerned but mostly excited. I hadn’t been in the ocean since Gatorman in September and I hadn’t put on a wetsuit since early last spring.

Of course I show up to gray skies and a light mist (you can’t really call that rain) but the majority of the group was already donning the wetuits so I knew I wasn’t getting out of it. It was really good to see some people I haven’t seen in a while and it felt great to get back in the ocean. It was a little cool but nothing too bad with the wetsuit on. As much as I bitched last summer about swimming without a wetsuit all year I think it has definitely helped give me a new appreciation for the water temperature.

We headed off to the 1/4 mile buoy and once I got there I waited for the rest of our small group to show up. Right behind them was a much larger group of what appeared to be faster swimmers so I joined up with these guys to head out to the 1/2 mile buoy and was glad I did. It gave me someone to chase. Once we got to the 1/2, two guys and I were ready to turnaround and head to the cove. The one thing I’m not a huge fan of with the group ocean swims is all the waiting at the buoys so I was pleasantly surprised with these two fast guys wanting to turn around and get back in.

I mentioned skipping the 1/4 mile buoy and heading straight for shore and it didn’t take long for me to regret the choice! I ended up doing just about everything I could to keep up with Jokken (Sorry, really not sure how to spell his name and we didn’t get to talk much after the swim) and he still had to roll over and back stroke regularly to let me catch back up. The dude worked me on the way back in and I loved it! It felt so good to be chasing someone in the water. These kinds of ocean swims are without a doubt the ones that make me stronger. He mentioned he’ll be moving to SD next month so I’m looking forward to more swims (read: beatings) and seeing if maybe I can start reducing the amount of time he spends backstroking.

It feels good to be starting my Friday’s with at the cove again. I’m excited for the rest of the summer!

Leave a Reply

