Just another WordPress.com site

Pullharder Run and Mountain Bike Crash

This weekend was the 2nd Annual Pullharder Marathon, a fun, low-key get together with a bunch of friends to enjoy some trail running. For the second year, I ran the 10 mile option and had a blast. I ran with Toby and Ben (who was running the full 26.2 yet still paced with us the first 10, he’s gotten crazy strong!) and it was great to be able to catch up with these guys.

The run itself went really well and I pushed a much quicker pace than my normal training runs. By the end we averaged just under 8 min miles, with mid-7s on the easier out section of the course, and I felt really good and strong the entire time. My training seems to be coming along really well and As long as I can stay healthy I think I have a legitimate shot at taking on and completing my first 50 miler.

Course Map and Elevation Profile

Now, back to that staying healthy part of the equation. Yesterday, I went out to MTRP for a mtb ride and was once again reminded of how awesome this park is. We’re incredibly lucky to have a park with this many miles of trails so centrally located in San Diego County. There are hours and hours worth of fire road, single track, brutal climbs, fast descents, wild animals and beautiful scenery. I’ve spent a lot of time on these trails but there are still more for me to explore and I love being able to do that now via foot and on the bike. It gives me the chance to explore more frequently without the risk of increasing my running miles too quickly.

However, it does increase the risk of my accident prone ways to take over and inflict potential damage to my training schedule. After some great riding I was coming back down the trails and carrying pretty good speed. I got too much in to enjoying the ride and must have lost concentration for a split second. As I rounded a turn and started to accelerate out of it the sun blinded me and I didn’t see a rock in the trail. My pedal came down at just the right moment and caused it to jam in to the rock. It was basically like the front of my bike slammed in to a wall and all my momentum carried me up and over. Yep, my first front flip while carrying the bike with me. I came down pretty hard on my back but the worst of it was my right hip/glute that slammed down on a rock and my right lower calf has a nice line of imprints from the chainring.  It’s not something that should cause long term damage but as of this morning pretty much any position other than laying on my left side hurts. Hopefully I’ll be able to still get in some runs this week and most of my workouts.

And what does a sudden stop look like on the speed chart?

I’m assuming the sharp drop in speed from 16.5 to 2 then back up to 12 before coming to 0 was a result of slamming to a stop and then the sudden increase in speed of flipping forward.

I’d post a pic of the bruise on my arse but I don’t want to sexy up this blog too much. Anyway, here’s to hoping I’m not out for more than a day or two.

6 responses

  1. Wow, your first endo. Why did the bike come with you?

    October 18, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    • It happened so quick my hands never let go of the handlebars and left foot stayed clipped in

      October 18, 2011 at 8:14 pm

      • Ah, well if you were clipped in then it makes sense. I ride clipped in but luckily I’ve never gone over the handlebars while clipped in.

        October 18, 2011 at 8:19 pm

      • Yea, my clips come undone pretty easily but with how fast it went over my feet din’t even have a chance to twist out haha. I gotta start riding with other people b/c it had to look impressive. Gotta start getting this stuff on film.

        October 19, 2011 at 7:06 am

  2. Josh

    i liked the good news about the running better than the other part. every time i think about taking up mountain biking… heal up quick!

    October 19, 2011 at 9:54 pm

    • Thanks man, it’s turning out to not be too bad. I was able to get in a swim and strength workout yesterday. Going to swim again today before trying to run tomorrow and see how it goes.

      October 20, 2011 at 6:12 am

Leave a Reply

